Virginia Tech®home

Laboratory Safety

Researcher in a lab wearing a white lab coat holding a glass tray from microscope

Laboratory Safety at Virginia Tech

The safety of students, faculty, staff, volunteers and others working in Virginia Tech’s labs is critical. Environmental Health & Safety is here to educate the university community on the safety and hazard concerns of working in labs and provide ongoing resources and training support education and research in labs at Virginia Tech.

Laboratory Safety programs and trainings in alphabetical order:


Contact Information

Bernadette Mondy
Assistant Director
bmondy@vt.edu | 540-231-8758

Cynthia Strader
Laboratory Inspector, X-Ray Safety, Nuclear Medicine
cynth@vt.edu | 540-231-2699

Rob Lowe
Environmental Programs Manager
rlowe@vt.edu | 540-231-2510

Andrew Trent
Environmental Health & Safety Coordinator for FBRI
jetrent@vt.edu | 540-526-2041

Shane Lorenzen
Hazardous Materials Technician
shane65@vt.edu | 540-6321

KC Harrison
Hazardous Materials Technician
kch13@vt.edu | 540-231-6321

Autumn Timpano
University Chemical Hygiene Officer
actimpano@vt.edu | 540-231-3427

Katelynn Monti
Laboratory Inspector
kmonti@vt.edu 

Kenny Osborne
Hazardous Materials Manager
kosborne@vt.edu | 540-231-2509

Matt Dowdy
Hazardous Materials Technician
mdowdy00@vt.edu | 540-231-6321

Vacant
Hazardous Materials Technician
email@vt.edu | 540-231-6321

Contact Laboratory Safety

Phone: 540-231-8758
Email: bmondy@vt.edu